Requirements To Obtain Australia’s Permanent Residence

Requirements To Obtain Australia’s Permanent Residence

Australia’s Permanent resident status allows immigrants to live and work in Australia for as long as they want.

Immigrants who have obtained a permanent residency status will be able to enjoy all the rights given to a citizen of Australia.

To become a permanent resident in Australia, candidates must meet some criteria that have been laid down by immigration authorities.

Australia uses a point-based system which allows them to select qualified candidates to be nominated for permanent residence.

The point-based system focuses on mainly:

  • Skills either occupational or business skill.
  • Experience.
  • Age.
  • English language proficiency.
  • Skilled employment.
  • Educational qualifications.
  • Australian qualifications etc.

These are some of the Skill-Select Immigration Point-Based factors which are considered before points are given to candidates.

There basically two streams under this point-based system with which candidates can enter Australia, they are:

  • Skilled Immigration Stream
  • Business Immigration Stream

There are other non-points based pathways to PR in Australia that include:

  • Family Migration
  • Distinguished Talent
  • Employer nominated scheme
  • Regional Skilled Migration Scheme (RSMS)
  • Humanitarian Streams.
  • Requirements To Apply For Australian PR
  • English Language Proficiency.

Have all the required documents ready such as:

  • Academic qualification certifications
  • Employment documents
  • Travel documents
  • Skill assessment document
  • English language proficiency test (IELTS) score.

Candidate must show interest to live work or study in Australia using the Expression of Interest. You should know that the Expression of Interest is not your visa, it is not your travel document.

Just as the name suggests, it is a system introduced to help candidates express their desire and interest to migrate to the country.

Possess the right skills in order to qualify for a nomination. Be medically fit and have a certificate to prove it.

Candidates must be admissible to enter Australia. If a candidate has a questionable record, health issue and otherwise that can threaten the lives of citizens in Australia, then the candidate is considered inadmissible.

Australia Visa Categories To Apply for A PR

Skilled Migration Visas

Points Tested:

  • Skilled Independent Migration: subclass 189
  • Sponsored Migrations: State-sponsored (subclass 190)
  • Skilled Regional Provisional: subclass 489
  • Designated Area State-Sponsored
  • Designated Area Relative Sponsored
  • The following are not points tested:
  • Regional Sponsored (subclass 187)
  • Employer nominated (subclass 186)
  • Skilled Regional visa: subclass 887
  • Distinguished Talent: subclass 124

Business Migration Visas

Points Tested:

  • Business Innovation and Investment (Provisional) visa (subclass 188)
  • Business Innovation Stream
  • Investor Stream
  • The following are not points tested
  • Business Innovation and Investment (Provisional) visa (subclass 188)
  • Business Innovation Stream
  • Premium Investor Stream
  • Entrepreneur Stream

Family Migration Visas

  • Parent visas
  • Aged Dependent Relative visa
  • Orphan Relative visa
  • Remaining Relative visa
  • Child visa
  • Partner visa
  • Adoption visa
  • Carer Visa

Refugee and Humanitarian Migration Visas

  • A woman at risk visa: subclass 204
  • Emergency Rescue visa: subclass 203
  • Global Special Humanitarian visa: subclass 202
  • In-country Special Humanitarian visa: subclass 201
  • Refugee visa: subclass 200

Originally posted 2019-11-05 07:00:36. Latest Buzz On IbuzzUp Media

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *